Home   |   Basebal Jerseys   |  Baseball Tickets   | Baseball Caps   |   Baseball Posters
Baseball Stats   |  Baseball Books  |  Baseball Shop   | Basebal History   | Baseball Directory  | Baseball Cities


  BaseBall Games
  MLB-Players.com Partners
  Blue Jays Players
  Devil Ray Players
  Orioles Players
  Red Sox Players
  Yankees Players
  Indians Players
  Twins Players
  National League Central
  National League West
  Till 2005
  Expos Players
  Baseball Players Information and teams forums & chat rooms.

Home >> Oakland Athletics  >> Oakland Athletics History


AthleticsThe Oakland Athletics are a Major League Baseball team based in Oakland , California . The team is often called the A's. The team was founded in the year 1901. The Oakland Athletics have been known as Philadelphia Athletics (1901-1954), Kansas City Athletics (1955-1966). The session 1968 was the first regular season in 46 years as they won their first season after 16 years with a record of 82-80. After another second-place finish in 1970, the A's won the A.L. West title in 1971, only to lose to the Baltimore Orioles in the American League Championship Series. The Athletics won World Series championships in 1972, 1973 and 1974. Oakland won five consecutive division titles from1971 to 1975.

Despite the distraction of near trades the Athletics managed to challenge for their 6th consecutive AL West title. In the end they finished the season 1976 in 2nd place with 87-74 record, however they were only two and a half games behind the Kansas City Royals. From 1976 through 1987, the Oakland played in only one postseason series, in 1981. Martin made believers of his young charges, “Billyball” was used to market the team, and the Athletics finished second in 1980. Rickey Henderson stole his 130th base in 1982 to break the single-season stolen base record held by Lou Brock. Under the Haas ownership, the minor league system was rebuilt, which bore completion later that decade as Athletics José Canseco (1986), Mark McGwire (1987) and Walt Weiss (1988) were chosen as A.L. Rookies of the Year. During the 1986 season, Tony La Russa was hired as the Athletics' manager, a post he held until the end of 1995. In 1988 the Athletics posted a 104-58 record cruised to the Western Division Championship. Starring on those teams were 1987 AL rookie of the year first baseman Mark McGwire, 1988 AL MVP outfielder José Canseco, and 1990 AL MVP and steals leader Henderson. From 1988 to 1992 the Athletics won four division crowns, three AL pennants, and a World Series title under manager Tony LaRussa.

Anchoring the pitching staff were 1992 AL MVP and Cy Young Award winner Dennis Eckersley and four-time 20-game winner Dave Stewart. From 1992 to 1993 the club went from first to last in the West Division, and it continued to struggle through much of the mid and late 1990s. A group of young players led by 2000 AL MVP Jason Giambi brought Oakland back, and the team won the AL West in 2000. With the sixtAthleticsh lowest payroll in baseball in 2002, the Oakland Athletics won an American League best 103 games. Pitcher Huston Street was voted the A.L. Rookie of the Year in 2005, the second year in a row an Athletic won that award, shortstop Bobby Crosby having won in 2004. The team won 15 AL Pennant in 1902, 1905, 1910, 1911, 1913, 1914, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1988, 1989, 1990. The Athletics have won nine World Series Championships (1910, 1911, 1913, 1929, 1930, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1989), have won thirteen American West Division titles (1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1981, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 2000, 2002, 2003) and have one Wild Card (2001, AL).


Google Athletics History News


July 28: Fresno State Defeats USC, 24-7, in 1992 Freedom Bowl
Each day during the month of July, Gobulldogs.com will highlight a great moment from Fresno State Athletics history. At the time the 1992 Freedom Bowl ...
Hill ready to face challenging yearFresno Bee

all 2 news articles »


MLB Roundup: Red Sox blow 3-run lead
Asbury Park Press
TWINS 5, WHITE SOX 3: Coming off the 18th perfect game in major league history, White Sox Mark Buehrle retired the first 17 batters to set a record with 45 ...
Buchholz Aims for Win No. 2 as Boston Looks to Keep RollingNESN.com
Sox seek revenge vs. young A's fireballerRedsox.com
Outfielder swap: Red Sox send Mark Kotsay to White Sox for Brian ...Gaea Times

all 503 news articles »

Athletics: Baker on verge of creating history
Stoke & Staffordshire
LOUISE Baker is on the verge of creating history in the Sub4 City Parks Grand Prix Series. The 13-year-old Endon High School pupil is in line to become the ...

Armed and loaded, West rises
"Look at the pitching -- that's where it all starts," said Nomar Garciaparra, back home in California with the Athletics after making his name in Boston. ...

and more »
American League East American League Cental American League West
Blue Jays History Indians History Athletics History
Devil Rays History Royals History Angels History
Orioles History Twins History Mariners History
Red Sox History Tigers History Rangers History
Yankees History White Sox History  
National League East National League Central National League West
Braves History Astros History Dodgers History
Nationals  History Brewers History Diamondbacks History
Marlins History  Cardinals History Giants History
Mets History Cubs History Padres History
Phillies History Pirates History Rockies History
Expos History ( Till 2005 ) Reds History